Select Page

Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification?

The CMMC, or Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification is a program initiated by the United States Department of Defense in order to measure their readiness and sophistication in cybersecurity. This model is designed on top of existing cybersecurity standards such as NIST, FAR, DFRARs.

As an organization moves up the Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) model, they are better able to secure their systems and protect data from cyberattacks. The NIST SP 800-171 or NIST 800 171 certification is a perfect example of this process in action.

Cybersecurity is a complicated and expansive topic but how much do you know about them? We will explore the five levels of cybersecurity maturity as well as what it takes to achieve each level.

Why do you need Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification CMMC

The Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) model measures cybersecurity maturity with five levels.

It is estimated that cybercrime drains over $600 billion annually from the global GDP. Relying on the vast network of contractors to execute its mission means that the Department of Defense is entrusting each one of them with critical data, which may increase risk for all parties involved in handling

Against a backdrop of uncertainty, the Department of Defense has developed CMMC to encourage more rigorous cybersecurity practices among its global contractors.

Controlled Unclassified Information (CUI): Information that requires safeguarding or dissemination controls pursuant to and consistent with applicable law, regulations, and government-wide policies but is not classified under Executive Order 13526.

Federal Contract Information (FCI): Information, not intended for public release and generated by a company in accordance with the government’s requests to develop or deliver products is now classified as top secret.

Information that underlies company contracts will be protected from disclosure if it was created specifically for this purpose or if the contract requires such information to be kept confidential

CMMC Framework and Levels

The CMMC is composed of five levels that range from Level 1, performing cyber hygiene, to Level 5, optimizing computers. In order to achieve one level higher than another, you must also be able to perform the previous levels as well.

The CMMC framework and levels measures cybersecurity maturity on a scale from 1-5. Levels include the following:

CMMC Level 1

  • Processes: Performed
  • Practices: Basic Cyber Hygiene

CMMC Level 2

  • Processes: Documented
  • Practices: Intermediate Cyber Hygiene

CMMC Level 3

  • Manage
  • Good Cyber Hygiene

CMMC Level 4

  • Reviewed
  • Proactive

CMMC Level 5

  • Advance
  • Proactive

The goal of CMMC is to protect individual’s privacy and company sensitive information from unauthorized disclosure or use

The Framework and Components of CMMC

  • Domain
  • Practices
  • Maturity

CMMC Domain

The CMMC consists of 17 domains, each originating from different aspects in security-related areas. The majority of these domains are derived from Federal Information Processing Standards (FIPS) Publication 200 and the related security requirement families to NIST 800 171 which is a guideline for all government systems or information technology that handles sensitive data. There are also three additional domain called Asset Management (AM), Recovery (RE), and Situational Awareness(SA).

The CMMC establishes five certification levels that reflect the maturity and reliability of a company’s cybersecurity infrastructure. The five levels are tiered and build upon each other’s technical requirements.

CMMC Practices

The majority of the practices (110 out of 171) were derived from security and safeguarding requirements, specified in FAR Clause 52.204-21 and DFARS Clause 252.204-7012 respectively.

Level 1 is equivalent to all of the safeguarding requirements from FAR Clause 52.204-21

Level 3, building on Levels 1 and 2, includes all of the security requirements in NIST 800 171 plus other practices

The remaining practices stem from multiple references as well as inputs from the DIB and DoD contract stakeholders. Due to various considerations, CMMC Levels 4-5 include only a subset of the enhanced security requirements for high risk systems outlined in NIST SP 800-171B (formerly known as NIST SP 800-172).

The Data Protection Management Maturity levels Model certification is required by many industries due to its rigorous standards for data management software development such that it can be tailored towards an organization’s needs.

CMMC Maturity

CMMC process Maturity is an organization’s commitment to performing their processes. Understanding Process Maturity helps you determine how well practices are defined, executed and managed within the organization. A higher level of maturity contributes to more stable process which produce consistent results over time. Mature processes can be retained during times of stress enabling organizations better prevent and respond a cyber threats

Are you worried that your company is vulnerable to cybercriminals?

The Business Cybersecurity System protects you against real-world threats while building your cybersecurity culture.

Cybersecurity Maturity Model Certification (CMMC) Free Resources:


  • Understanding CMMC Level 1 Requirements



  • Understanding CMMC Level 2 Requirements



  • Understanding CMMC Level 3 Requirements



  • Understanding CMMC Level 4 Requirements



  • Understanding CMMC Level 5 Requirements


Implement CMMC Faster and Easier?

Learn More


Who is ChatFortress

ChatFortress is a leading cybersecurity company that helps small and medium-size companies protect themselves from hacking attempts. Using Cybersecurity AI, Gamified cybersecurity awareness programs and providing virtual security analysts. Our goal is to help you create a cybersecurity aware culture.